Do I really need emergency lighting?

Guest PeterG

Good morning, I've been asked to prove within legislation that we need emergency lighting in various types of sites that we have. Mainly large convenience stores and small supermarkets, but also, funeral homes, travel agencies etc. Building regs I presume state the need in New Builds, (Please direct me and I need to know how these and other regs determine the NEED. We of course do have emergency lighting in 99.9% of sites. I am a qualified emergency lighting designer but this was some years ago. So I am conversant with BS5266 and how to design a system. BUT I need to be able to demonstrate the NEED withing legislation. Can you please direct, regarding new and existing sites.

Many thanks.

Peter

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Peter

Funny, we just published an article this morning. Here an extract:

'The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order (RRFSO) 2005, which came into force in October 2006, charges the responsible person in control of non-domestic premises and the common areas of a House in Multiple Occupancy (HMO) with the safety of everyone in the building, whether working, visiting or living there. This duty of care includes the provision of emergency lighting. Article 14 (2) (h) of the RRFSO states:

“Emergency routes and exits requiring illumination must be provided with emergency lighting of adequate intensity in the case of failure of their normal lighting”.

Emergency lighting is part of the fire safety provision of a building and cannot be ignored: as noted by the Industry Committee for Emergency Lighting (ICEL), which is the foremost UK authority on emergency lighting and provides third party accreditation for components and products for emergency light fittings under the auspices of the Lighting Industry Association (LIA):