Mobility Scooter in communal area

Guest Dawnpre

Guest Dawnpre

Hi

I am a manager of an independant living scheme for the elderly in Rastrick, Brighouse, West Yorkshire and I have 2 tenants that are wanting a mobility scooter and i have been told by my line manager that to store them in a communal area i would need to get a fire officer to do an inspection on the court, could you please inform me who i would need to contact.

Hi

The owner or operator of the independent living scheme is responsible to carry out a fire risk assessment. This responsibility might have been delegated to you. The fire brigade can give advice but ultimately, you or another responsible person has to ensure the adherence to the Regulatory Reform Order and the guides derived from it. If you feel that you need external advice, you have to consider employing a fire risk assessor who will be able to give written guidance and recommendations.

You will need to work out if the mobility scooters are obstructing the escape route to cause a risk to people escaping the building in the case of a fire. The width required depends from the number of people having to escape from a building. You need to take into account whether the people escaping are able to walk unaided, whether they need wheelchairs and if there is a risk that the mobility scooters could be left in or pushed into the escape route itself rather than being parked correctly.

I hope this helps

Harry

• 4 months later...
Guest StevChr

I live and own in a 2bed apartment, there are 5 other appartments within the main structure/building.

Two on the ground, two on the 1st and finally two on the top. The neighbour and I share an extremely large landing, 4.5m width x 15-20m length (est).

Both the neighbour and I keep our push bikes/bicycles on the landing, x2 adult sized bikes, x1 small childs bike and a small scooter.