Fire detection communal areas and flats

Steve B

Was just after some advice. I’m a small electrical contractor.  Ive been asked to submit a quote for fire detection and emergency lighting in communal areas. I’m ok with the emergency lighting but a bit unsure of the fire alarm requirements. 

The premises is domestic, old Victorian conversion with around 4 flats over 3 floors, not including basement. 

Am i right in thinking i need to install a grade A (LD2) system with heat detectors from this system in entrances of each flat? Also a grade D system in each flat (domestic smoke alarm mains and battery from flats own electrical installation?

would appreciate any help or links to info.  Thanks 

• 1 year later...
On 16/07/2018 at 13:09, Steve B said:

Was just after some advice. I’m a small electrical contractor.  Ive been asked to submit a quote for fire detection and emergency lighting in communal areas. I’m ok with the emergency lighting but a bit unsure of the fire alarm requirements. 

The premises is domestic, old Victorian conversion with around 4 flats over 3 floors, not including basement. 

Am i right in thinking i need to install a grade A (LD2) system with heat detectors from this system in entrances of each flat? Also a grade D system in each flat (domestic smoke alarm mains and battery from flats own electrical installation?

would appreciate any help or links to info.  Thanks 

Hi there, I would REALLY really appreciate it if you could let me know the approximate quote for what this worked out to be? We’re buying somewhere for the first time and we need almost exactly this (7 flats over 3 floors) before we can move. Would really appreciate any info on the cost for these works! My email is tobynaylor@hotmail.com.

Many thanks, all the best.

Toby