High rise flats / Building regs

Meady

This is a theoretical query as I'm doing some training and high rise blocks of flats has come up (not specific to Grenfell as the paper was written before the tragedy in 2017).  The paper tells me to read ADB and BS9999 as well as the DCLG/GOV.COM guide for purpose built flats.

I have been told by someone else in the industry (which is why i am querying this) that Grenfell complied with current building regs...I am a novice in the industry but find it hard to get my head around why a building which is 30m+ high would only have one means of escape (even with a stay put policy)?!?!?  

So, I have read what I thought would be the building regs (ADB 2010) to see what the current guide would be; but I cannot for the love of me find where it says in the ADB that a single stair is acceptable in a high rise block of flats?! Please can you steer me in the right direction??

Article 2.19 and 2.20 to me reads that a single stair is only allowed up to floor levels of 4.5m?? I've read it time and time again and am just getting more and more confused!  Is this now right and any block of flats with a floor above 4.5m must now have at least two means of escape once occupants are out of their flats and in the shared corridors?

Any help always appreciated.  My only thought was that, at the time of design and construction, Grenfell did conform with the building regs. and that the current ADB is not retrospective.  Also, would the FSO 2005 see it as unreasonable/unpractical to install a second means of escape afterwards??

Sorry - lots of questions here...but any guidance would be much appreciated.

Grenfell was built in the 70's and complied with Building Regulations at the time (which referred to CP3 chapter lV part 1 as the standard to follow).0