Fire protection on external wall

Czar

Hiya, first post, probably loads more to come, as I'm new to passive fire protection, and it seems to be a growing concern, which is quite understandable, and even though I've been on the C17 Introduction To PFP course, I'm still brand new, and in some areas, unsure.

The query I have is, there was a water pipe that exited an external wall (On the inside its block, outside sheet metal, insulation wise, I do not know if its rockwool or other), anyway I was asked to hide the expanding foam which was used to fill the gap around the pipe. Now, the building is a standalone one room building, none residential, a few bits of electrical equipment inside, and a large diesel generator with a 100ltr diesel tank next to it. The building is protected by a sprinkler system, it has a vent on one wall, which is always open.

Now, I was asked to hide the expanding foam, no specs were given, just cover it with a board. So, I personally couldnt see nothing wrong with using 3/4 plywood as I had a sheet the perfect size, and bare in mind, this isnt about cost... So I cut the board around the pipe, fixed it to the block work, then sealed around it and the gap around the pipe with, as it happens, fire retardant sealant.

Someone comes along, looks, and has a bit of a whinge that I've used ply, but like I said, no specs were given, and I personally couldnt see what was wrong considering many factors I mentioned above.

What I want to know is, is it adequate? Should have I used proper fire rated materials like fire batt, I know its a daft question because obviously to be 100%, I should of, but then, I personally couldnt see the issue, its a small building, protected by a sprinkler system, smoke and cinders WILL escape through the vent if something did break out.

I'd appreciate your thoughts on this, like I said, I'm new to this, I'd like to learn in, the C17 Intro to PFP only showed so much, and mostly that was internal residential stuff.