Fire Extinguisher Redesign.

Guest Chris Sargent.

Guest Chris Sargent.

Hi there,
Im currently a final year student from Loughborough University studying 'Product Design and Technology'. For my final year design practice module I am looking to design an innovative lightweight household fire extinguisher and would be hugely grateful of your opinions.

I would love to know your opinions on the idea of a 'stylish' hand-held lightweight C02 based fire extinguisher for household use within the kitchen. In addition are there any problems with current models of extinguishers anybody has encountered at all? (price, usability, size, weight, etc.)

Thank you very much for your time. Im very grateful for each and every response.

Regards, Chris Sargent. (Loughborough University student)

Hi Chris

The idea of lightweight extinguishers is always attractive. However, I would stay clear of CO2 as an extinguishing medium for a general household extinguisher. CO2 is only suitable in quite restricted circumstances, as it does not penetrate fabrics, dissipates quickly and can cause asphyxiation in small rooms. Some type of foam or mist should do the trick. This would also avoid the design problems stemming from the high pressure in CO2 extinguishers (about 55 bar). CO2 extinguishers also have no pressure gauge, so a homeowner would never be certain whether the extinguisher is full!

For design ideas, have a look at the P50 Fireworld extinguishers made from aramid.

Harry

Hello Chris, my 2p worth on the subject.

As Harry almost said, you can forget CO2 because for domestic use it is very limited, and as it is under such pressure it has to be in a heavy canister in order not to burst.

A popular miss-conception is the actual discharge time of an extinguisher.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_Nmf1cVPcY