History of fire extinguishers: Who invented extinguishers?

Guest JoanFerrus

Guest JoanFerrus

My name is Joan Ferrús. I’m a journalist and I work in a cultural quiz show for Antena 3, one of Spain’s largest televisions, in Barcelona called ¡Ahora Caigo! (in the USA it is known as “Who’s Still Standing?”).

My work consists in writing the questions and checking if they are correct and well formulated, in order to be as precise as possible and make sure we don’t spread wrong information to our contestants and our audience. Sometimes, to do this work, I need to contact to some experts, such as you, in this case.

I am now verifying a question: What was the profession of the inventor of the modern fire extinguisher? SOLDIER. But, we can really say that Captain William George Manby is the inventor of the modern fire extinguisher? Is it precise enough?

I would appreciate your help very much to check this information, please.

I thank you in advance for your help and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Joan Ferrús

It appears he was a soldier, author and a man of means, his wife by all account. You need to check out the book below.

In 1813 Manby invented the "Extincteur", the first portable pressurised fire extinguisher. This consisted of a copper vessel of 3 gallons of pearl ash (potassium carbonate) solution pressurised with compressed air.