Fire statistics about nursing homes

Guest StefanJahn

Guest StefanJahn

I am a student from Germany, and in my master thesis I work on the topic:

"Studies of the (preventive) structural and technical fire protection requirements for nursing care homes for elderly people in the International Comparison."

I like to ask you, if you have fire statistics about fires in "nursing care homes for elderly people" or statistics about the effectiveness of automatic sprinkler systems in these types of buildings? Unfortunately I found nothing properly suitable. Are fires in these types of buildings recorded?

Are there values for fire probability in nursing care homes for elderly people or in general in the UK. And are there values for the failure probability/ reliability for automatic sprinkler systems in these buildings?

I also like to know about the total number (in th UK) of:

1. buildings (in general/ all buildings)

2. residential buildings

3. hospitals

4. nursing care homes for elderly people/ rest homes/ old person's home

4.1. beds in these buildings

4.2. people living in buildings

4.3. age distribution in these buildings

and how many of these buildings above do have an automatic sprinkler system and how many not?

I know many many questions and please excuse the trouble I make, but could you

please take the time to answer my questions or to forward me to somebody who

can. It would help me a lot.

If you can't help me please give me a hint where to look, a link or please

forward me to someone who can help me.

Thank you very much.

With best regards,

Stefan

There has been changes to most of the UK government websites like Department of Communities and Local Government, which makes finding anything difficult especially statistics but http://www.statistic.../hub/index.html may help.

You could also try posting on http://forum.fire.org.uk/

• 3 years later...
Guest NeilSan