Intumescent strips jamming the door.

forumsafelincs

Hello.

I'm fitting fire doors in a house I'm converting to an HMO. The frames are new and have been routed (by the supplier) for combined smoke/heat strips. I'm a plumber by trade but have hung a few doors before but need some advice on these please.

I fitted the frame and got everything looking fine and hung the first door with an equal gap of no more than 3mm around the edge. However when I fitted the strips the door wouldn't close easily because of the smoke brush being too proud. To enable it to close smoothly to meet the regs I'd have to plane the door back by 2-3mm. Not only is this going to look very unsightly (a gap of 5-6mm) it then actually exceeds the regulation 3mm gap. Is it possible that the timber supplier didn't rout deep enough for the strip and if so should I just run through it with my router again? The plastic part of the body of the strip stands proud of the frame by about 1mm. If I routed deeper say to make the strip recessed by about 1mm it would solve the problem or is this not recommended.

Any advice?

• 2 weeks later...
Guest LisaVen

Hi we have brush smoke seal sin one of our care homes, the residents need hourly checks and are complaining of the noise of the seals when the door is opened and closed. All doors have a 3mm gap around and have recently been renewed, can we cut a shallow groves into the doors to inset the seals to reduce the noise? is there a maximum gap between the door and frame.

The gap around the door, (two sides and head of door) should be 3 mm, however if the door is a FD30s then that gap needs to be sealed by a cold smoke seal to prevent cold smoke from percolating through that gap in the early stages of a fire. If you sink the cold smoke seal into a grove and it doesn't contact with the frame then its purpose will be lost. Have you tried other types of seal which may prove more silent than the ones fitted now.

• 8 months later...
Guest Guest

Hi there Lisa